Base have 172 065 audiobooks.
Search: 


📙 A Hero's Daughter: A Novel by Andrei Makine, narrator Gregory St. John


0


In World War II Ivan Demidov won the Red Army's highest award for bravery, that of Hero of the Soviet Union. But the decades following the War have brought him a life of hardship, alleviated only by his pride in this achievement and the modest privileges granted to War veterans. His daughter, Olya, on the other hand, born in 1961 and trained as a linguist, takes up a post as an interpreter at Moscow's International Business Center with access to a metropolitan lifestyle beyond the dreams of her parents. The only catch is that her job involves servicing foreign businessmen around the clock and passing on information about them to the KGB. This is a stunning drama of disillusionment and tension between the two generations: the one that grew up under Stalin and saw its faith in him crumble, and the one that grew up under Brezhnev, fixated on the glamour of the West and its material goods. Makine's vivid and authentic evocation of daily life in post-war Soviet Russia matches in its intensity the portraits of 19th century Russian life offered by Dostoevsky and Tolstoy. ©1990, 1995 Editions Robert Laffont S. A. paris, English-language translation copyright 2003 by Geoffrey Strachan (P)2012 Audible, Inc.

About book:


Similar books results


The Tenth Circle: A Novel
The Tenth Circle: A Novel by Jodi Picoult

New York Times best-selling author Jodi Picoult shares a powerful novel about the unbreakable bond between parent and child, the temptation to play God, and the dangerous repercussions. Fourteen-year-old Trixie Stone is in love for the first time. She's a...

The Wolf, the Watcher, and the Oryx
The Wolf, the Watcher, and the Oryx by Joan Walsh

Khoa and his grandfather, Tristian, are thought to be the last two descendants of an ancient pack of white wolves who followed "the way of the wolf". As the novel opens, Tristian lies dying, having been torn apart by the pack, for teaching Khoa "the way",...

The Rise of a New Evil: Diary of a Wimpy Villager, Book 14
The Rise of a New Evil: Diary of a Wimpy Villager, Book 14 by Wimpy Hero Books

A great listening experience for kids and teens who love Minecraft! When the realms of Minecraft are overtaken by a powerful breed of evil, it is up to one wimpy villager to turn brave and save the entire world. Villagers are constantly purged left and ri...

The Poacher's Daughter
The Poacher's Daughter by Michael Zimmer

The Poacher's Daughter is an extraordinary story of betrayal and redemption set within an uncompromising landscape of raw brutality and unimaginable beauty. It is a novel you won't soon forget. In 1885 young Rose Edwards is widowed by Montana vigilantes w...

Golden Age: A Novel
Golden Age: A Novel by Jane Smiley

From the winner of the Pulitzer Prize: the much-anticipated final volume, following Some Luck and Early Warning, of her acclaimed American trilogy - a richly absorbing new novel that brings the remarkable Langdon family into our present times and beyond. ...

Warriors of the Storm: The Last Kingdom Series, Book 9
Warriors of the Storm: The Last Kingdom Series, Book 9 by Bernard Cornwell

The new novel in Bernard Cornwell's number one best-selling series on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg. BBC2's major Autumn 2015 TV show The Last Kingdom is based on the first two books in the series. A fragile pe...

Cage Without Bars: A Forrest Spencer Novel, Book 3
Cage Without Bars: A Forrest Spencer Novel, Book 3 by Gerald G. Neufeld

Frightened, my wife nudges me awake, certain that she heard a noise somewhere in the house. I hear the intruder a moment later. Our home is in a run-down part of town where burglaries and robbery have become commonplace. Worried about our 18-month-old in ...

The Saint Bids Diamonds: The Saint, Book 18
The Saint Bids Diamonds: The Saint, Book 18 by Leslie Charteris

The Saint is back - 50 audiobooks are now available starring the debonair classic crime hero.Simon Templar is the Saint - daring, dazzling, and just a little disreputable. On the side of the law, but standing outside it, he dispenses his own brand of just...

Hello, I Lied
Hello, I Lied by M.E. Kerr

From Margaret A. Edwards, award-winning author of Deliver Us From Evie comes a novel about a gay teenager who discovers a different kind of love during an unforgettable summer in the Hamptons. I’d always think of it as the summer that I loved a girl. Seve...

My Mom My Hero: Alzheimer's, a Mother and Daughter's Bittersweet Journey
My Mom My Hero: Alzheimer's, a Mother and Daughter's Bittersweet Journey by Lisa R. Hirsch

A daughter's newfound love. When Lisa Hirsch found out her mother, Ruth, had been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease, her love, appreciation, and caring for her mother was transformed. To Lisa's surprise, it has brought her and Ruth closer together than t...

Counterfeit Lies
Counterfeit Lies by Oliver North

The explosive new thriller from Oliver North, who stormed best seller lists nationwide with his disarmingly authentic military novel Heroes Proved, is a gripping, nonstop tale that could only be written by someone who has "been there, done that". Veteran ...

Unexpected Hero: Hidden Falls, Episode 4
Unexpected Hero: Hidden Falls, Episode 4 by Olivia Newport

Hidden Falls - An Exciting New 13-Part Serial Novel from Shiloh Run Studios Troubles are escalating all over town. Sylvia has major cleanup to do, not to mention figuring out who and why - and could the vandalism to her shop have something to do with Quin...

Stolen Child: A Forrest Spencer Novel, Book Two
Stolen Child: A Forrest Spencer Novel, Book Two by Gerald Neufeld

Eighteen months ago, Divinity Parker mysteriously disappeared from her school playground. Everyone, including the FBI, believes her to have been killed or trafficked. A resident of a Georgia town insists she knows where the missing girl is. Though Forrest...

Friends and Other Perishables: A Carl Jacobs Mystery, Book 1
Friends and Other Perishables: A Carl Jacobs Mystery, Book 1 by Dale Whisman

"The image of the hard-boiled detective has undergone many transformations since the days of Hammett and Chandler. Still, the idea of a married man with a couple of young daughters working the mean streets of Tulsa, Oklahoma, seems hardly noir. But in Dal...

Hamilton Stark
Hamilton Stark by Russell Banks

Hamilton Stark is a New Hampshire pipe fitter and the sole inhabitant of the house from which he evicted his own mother. He is the villain of five marriages and the father of a daughter so obsessed that she has been writing a book about him for years. Ham...

O My America!: A Novel
O My America!: A Novel by Johanna Kaplan

A delightfully funny and moving novel about the singular life of a cantankerous Jewish-American writer and anarchist troublemaker, as remembered by his daughter. In 1972, 64-year-old Ezra Slavin's heart gives out at an anti-war rally. A contentious and ir...

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

The incredible new novel from the author of Oscar-nominated The Silver Linings Playbook. For fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. How would you spend your birthday if you knew it would be your last...

John Saturnall's Feast
John Saturnall's Feast by Lawrence Norfolk

A beautiful, rich and sensuous historical novel, John Saturnall’s Feast tells the story of a young orphan who becomes a kitchen boy at a manor house, and rises through the ranks to become the greatest Cook of his generation. It is a story of food, star-cr...

Man Overboard
Man Overboard by Monica Dickens

Lieutenant-Commander, the hero of this novel, is axed from the Navy at the age of 36, one of many thousands obliged to re-plan their lives as the result of cuts in the armed services. A widower with a small daughter, he has no experience or knowledge outs...

Bob
Bob by Jacqueline Druga

Within the depths of her eccentric, struggling-writer mind, within her every novel, lies what she believes to be the perfect man. The perfect hero. His name...Bob. Emily Stevenson dreams, creates, inspires, and writes all for the one character she truly f...