Base have 172 065 audiobooks.
Search: 


đź“™ The Black Star of Kingston by S. D. Smith, narrator Eric Fritzius


4.5


A century before Heather and Picket's adventures in The Green Ember, a displaced community fights for hope on the ragged edge of survival. My place beside you My blood for yours Till The Green Ember rises Or the end of the world. Whitson Mariner and Fleck Blackstar face old fears and new enemies, forging a legend that will echo through the ages. Old wars haunt. New enemies threaten. An oath is born. A hero rises. ©2015 S. D. Smith (P)2015 Story Warren Books

About book:

Reviews:

5

"An Enchanting Tale"

What did you love best about The Black Star of Kingston?
5

"We liked to back story to Green Ember!"

This series has captivated our family from my wife and I to our 17 year old son. Our fourth grader says, "Please write more!" You are a true storyteller S.D. Smith. Thank you.
5

"Can't wait for the sequel!"

We have listened to The Green Ember and were sucked right in to the story. This prequel was very intriguing to learn the 'back story' and now we look forward to the sequel. S.D. Smith, write on!
5

"Shorter prequel"

Shorter prequel. Does not require reading the Green Ember first. Looking forward to next in series.
5

"coming coming coming coming coming awesomeness"

yay yay yay yay yay yay yay yay yay yay yay yay yay yay yay cool awesomeness bunnies are cute and fluffy
5

"Excellent story"

Our whole family is enjoying the series, (ages 7-15 and the parents) as we listen in the car wherever we go. We loved The Green Ember and this Prequel. The children were hoping that Joel, the narrator of the first book would return for this one, so they were slightly disappointed with the change, but the Mommy thought that this narrator did a good job, too. If some listeners found the beginning slow, I would encourage them to push past to the action! I didn't find any of it to drag, since it begins with a main character's foreboding, and action quickly follows. It's fun to hear the stories that Heather and Picket from the Green Ember grew up hearing from their parents. The story was an excellent exhortation to selfless loyalty and bravery in the face of fear and death. I look forward to Ember Falls, as do the children, especially knowing that the narrator from The Green Ember returns. I hope that S. D. Smith continues to write great stories.
4

"Setting the stage"

I feel like this book sets the stage for further adventure. After listening to The Green Ember and Ember Falls, this book seemed to take a long time to get going. It's worth the listen for sure to learn some of the history mentioned in The Green Ember series. Eric Fritzius does well with the narration. We are looking forward to more from S.D. Smith!
5

"Great for kids, by the way this is a kid!"

This book is great! If u like the green ember series, this is the book for u!
5

"LOVE it!"

This book gives some history to The Green Ember and adds even more meaning to all the things I love about this series!
4

"Spectacular"

The Black Star was great. The only thing I would add is that you might want to make another one like it to prove that there are more books. Also, it kept on changing perspectives I would at least have it two chapters not one.

Similar books results


Locke & Key
Locke & Key by Joe Hill

Audie Award Finalist, Original Work, 2016 Based on the best-selling, award-winning graphic novel series Locke & Key - written by acclaimed suspense novelist Joe Hill (NOS4A2, Horns) and illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez - this multicast, fully dramatized a...

Black Star
Black Star by Robert Gandt

Cmdr. Brick Maxwell and his F/A-18 squadron are flying cover for the president of Taiwan's jetliner when it is blown out of the sky. Other than a slight shimmer of light preceding the catastrophe, there's no visible cause for the explosion. But Maxwell su...

The Cycle of Arawn: The Complete Trilogy
The Cycle of Arawn: The Complete Trilogy by Edward W. Robertson

The White Tree (book one): In Mallon, the dark magic of the nether has been banned for centuries. Its users have been driven out or killed. Its secrets lost. But the holy book of the nethermancers has just been found by a boy named Dante. As he works to u...

The Black Stars: The Planet Thieves, Book 2
The Black Stars: The Planet Thieves, Book 2 by Dan Krokos

Mason Stark has a problem with minding his own business. This worked to his advantage when he stole back his world from the alien Tremist. Now Mason is called upon to use that very curiosity as a spy at the Tremist school for soldiers. At least his best f...

The Twilight Zone Radio Dramas, Volume 6
The Twilight Zone Radio Dramas, Volume 6 by Rod Serling

Experience one of television's greatest science fiction series: The Twilight Zone. This collection of episodes is fully dramatized for audio and features a full cast, music, sound effects, and narration by some of today's biggest celebrities. "The Dummy" ...

Dynomite!: Good Times, Bad Times…Our Times - A Memoir
Dynomite!: Good Times, Bad Times…Our Times - A Memoir by Jimmie Walker

Born into the violence of South Bronx ghetto life, the comic pioneer of TV’s Good Times fame offers a hilarious and politically charged review of his career as one of television’s first hugely successful Black stars. From opening for the Black Panthers an...

Avenger: Boy Soldier, Book 3
Avenger: Boy Soldier, Book 3 by Andy McNab

Danny and Elena are now working for the Firm, desperately attempting to track down the vengeance-seeking Black Star before more 'Angels of Death' suicide bombers are despatched. Elena is the key to discovering the bomb-master's whereabouts as she has alre...

'C' is for Coochy Coo: Malibu Mystery, Book 3
'C' is for Coochy Coo: Malibu Mystery, Book 3 by Sean Black

The third book in the brand new fast-paced, funny series that's perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum books. Former child star Sofia Salgado is finding her feet as a trainee investigator at Malibu detective agency, Maloney Investigations, w...

Audra McDonald
Audra McDonald by Michael Ian Black

[Contains explicit content] The record-breaking, six-time Tony Award-winning actress Audra McDonald went from a hyper-active kid performing in the local dinner theater to Broadway mega-star. In this episode, Michael chats with her about failed auditions, ...

John Leguizamo
John Leguizamo by Michael Ian Black

[Contains explicit content] Actor and playwright John Leguizamo has become famous for being an open book, which is apparent in his critically acclaimed one-man shows that chronicle his life from troublemaker to film star. In his conversation with Michael,...

Derrick Coleman Jr. (Audible Exclusive)
Derrick Coleman Jr. (Audible Exclusive) by Michael Ian Black

Derrick Coleman Jr. is the first legally deaf offensive player in the NFL. After a childhood trying to fit in, Coleman found football and became a high school, then college star. But becoming one of the few college players to make the leap to the NFL wasn...

Felicia Day
Felicia Day by Michael Ian Black

As a musical and math prodigy, Felicia Day was not used to failing. She expected that being a Hollywood actress would be as easy, but eventually figured out that she had to carve her own way. After many false starts Day created the hit web series, The Gui...

L'envers du decor: Une mission de Ryan Lock [Behind the Scenes: A Ryan Lock Mission]
L'envers du decor: Une mission de Ryan Lock [Behind the Scenes: A Ryan Lock Mission] by Sean Black

Tout juste de retour de leur mission d'infiltration dans la prison de Pelican Bay Supermax, au nord de la Californie, l'agent de protection rapprochée Ryan Lock et son associé Ty Johnson se retrouvent à Los Angeles pour assurer la sécurité d'une actrice d...

Lock & Load: A Ryan Lock Short
Lock & Load: A Ryan Lock Short by Sean Black

Fresh from a stint undercover in Pelican Bay's super-max prison in Northern California, Ryan Lock, and his business partner, former US Marine Ty Johnson, are in Los Angeles. They are tasked with protecting a young Hollywood starlet from an abusive movie s...

Fort Laramie, Vol. 1
Fort Laramie, Vol. 1 by CBS Radio

Fort Laramie was an adult-oriented Western radio series that aired Sunday afternoons on the CBS radio network in 1956. Produced and directed by Gunsmoke's Norman Macdonnell, this realistic Western drama depicted life at Fort Laramie, an important stop on ...

Rogue's Gallery, Vol. 1: The Classic Radio Collection
Rogue's Gallery, Vol. 1: The Classic Radio Collection by Hollywood 360 - producer

Rogue's Gallery was an old-time radio program starring Dick Powell as Richard Rogue, a private detective who trailed luscious blondes, protected witnesses, and did whatever else detectives do to make a living. What set this show apart from others in the g...

Larry Goes to Space
Larry Goes to Space by Alan Black

Larry enjoyed raising cattle on his Kansas farm, until the aliens arrived. He couldn't help himself; he was going for a ride with aliens from outer space! The aliens wouldn't tell him where he was going, how long he would be gone, or if he was ever coming...

The Lux Radio Theatre, Vol. 2: The Classic Radio Collection
The Lux Radio Theatre, Vol. 2: The Classic Radio Collection by Hollywood 360

The Lux Radio Theatre was one of the longest running - and most extravagant - shows from radio's golden age. The show featured the greatest stars in Hollywood appearing in hour-long radio adaptations of their biggest motion pictures. Cecil B. DeMille was ...

Fishnets for a BBW: Stocking Fetish Erotica
Fishnets for a BBW: Stocking Fetish Erotica by Lexa Black

When CEO Nick Fleming gets stuck in a hotel after a snowstorm, he finds a curvy college student who shares his love of hosiery to help him pass the time. He buys her a pair of fishnet hose and designer heels, and they spend the afternoon in his hotel room...

Philo Vance, Detective, Vol. 1: The Classic Radio Collection
Philo Vance, Detective, Vol. 1: The Classic Radio Collection by Hollywood 360 - producer

Philo Vance is a fictional character featured in numerous crime novels written by S. S. Van Dine, published in the 1920s and 1930s, who was later revived in film and on radio and television. During that time Vance was immensely popular. He was portrayed a...