Base have 172 065 audiobooks.
Search: 


📙 The Palace Tiger by Barbara Cleverly, narrator Terry Wale


4.1


India 1922. When a tiger, turned man-eater, starts terrorising the northern villages of Ranipur, Governor Sir George Jardine dispatches Joe Sandilands, war hero and Scotland Yard detective, to join in a hunt for the beast as the guest of the maharajah. But Joe's suspicions are soon roused about the true nature of his trip. The maharajah is dying and his succession is unclear. The first heir to the throne has already died in a panther-wrestling incident and a second violent death occurs as Joe approaches the city. Misadventure or intention? In the glittering court, surrounded by scheming characters, Joe must track down a clever murderer, finding his way through a maze of intrigue to corner the Palace Tiger. ©2004 Barbara Cleverly (P)2005 Soundings

About book:

Reviews:

5

"Excellent British Raij Police Procedural"

This is an exceptional police procedural set in the 1920s in British India. The story is a fine mixture of a classic golden era mystery with a classic golden era adventure. Very well done!
5

"What a Great Series!"

This is my fifth novel by Barbara Cleverly. Impeccable research combined with a riveting thriller leave the reader anxious for the next installment. All that is needed is for Audible to add the Kashmiri Rose-first in the series. Highly recommended for Charles Todd fans,

Similar books results


Other Bodies
Other Bodies by Nate DiMao

[Contains explicit content]Jane Froman was an American singer and actress. During her 30-year career, Froman performed on stage, radio, and television despite chronic injuries that she sustained in a 1943 plane crash. This is her story. The Memory Palace ...

Picture a Box
Picture a Box by Nate DiMao

[Contains explicit content]One day in the early 1800's, a man named Henry Brown mailed himself to freedom. This is the story of that trip, and all the trips that came after. The Memory Palace is a proud member of Radiotopia from PRX. ©2015 The Memory Pala...

The Enchantress: An Arabian Fantasy
The Enchantress: An Arabian Fantasy by D. M. Raver

The padded footsteps of a white tiger pass a servant girl in the hallway of an Arabian palace. The prince's toys rise up to defend him from a band of mercenaries. A sinister man takes control of the palace while the Sultan is away...but what is his purpos...

Kinslayer
Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff

A Shattered Empire: Shogun Yoritomo has been assassinated, and the threat of civil war looms over the Shima Imperium. The Lotus Guild conspires crush the growing rebellion. A Dark Legacy: Yukiko and the mighty thunder tiger Buruu have been cast in the rol...

The Hare with Amber Eyes: A Family's Century of Art and Loss
The Hare with Amber Eyes: A Family's Century of Art and Loss by Edmund de Waal

The Ephrussis were a grand banking family, as rich and respected as the Rothschilds, who “burned like a comet” in 19th-century Paris and Vienna society. Yet by the end of World War II, almost the only thing remaining of their vast empire was a collection ...

The Twenty-Sided Sorceress Series, Books 1-3: Justice Calling, Murder of Crows, Pack of Lies
The Twenty-Sided Sorceress Series, Books 1-3: Justice Calling, Murder of Crows, Pack of Lies by Annie Bellet

Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress. This is the omnibus of the first three books in the USA Today best-selling urban fantasy series Twenty-Sided Sorceress, collected together for the first time in one convenient volume. Fans of The Dresden Files and The Iron Druid Ch...

Sherlock Holmes and the Dance of the Tiger: The Great Detective in Love, Book 2
Sherlock Holmes and the Dance of the Tiger: The Great Detective in Love, Book 2 by Suzette Hollingsworth

Revolutionary terrorists, a dead British agent, a man-eating tiger, and the Commander of the British Army cavorting with a Russian spy! Since the assassination of Czar Alexander II in 1881, the oppression of the Russian people has increased dramatically u...

Michael Jordan Can't Bring Himself to Tell Tiger Woods the Truth about His Future
Michael Jordan Can't Bring Himself to Tell Tiger Woods the Truth about His Future by Cindy Boren

"Michael Jordan Can't Bring Himself to Tell Tiger Woods the Truth about His Future" is from the April 21, 2016 Sports section of The Washington Post. It was written by Cindy Boren and narrated by Sam Scholl. ©2016 The Washington Post (P)2016 Audible, Inc....

A Tiger's Bride: A Lion's Pride, Book 4
A Tiger's Bride: A Lion's Pride, Book 4 by Eve Langlais

When at first you don't succeed - turn to abduction. It's all in a day's work when this Siberian tiger meets the woman he wants. An accidental kidnapping? Check. A forced marriage? Check. A virgin bride? Damn. There go his plans for seduction, and here co...

Tiger Tracks: The Classic Panzer Memoir
Tiger Tracks: The Classic Panzer Memoir by Wolfgang Faust

Wolfgang Faust was the driver of a Tiger I tank with the Wehrmacht Heavy Panzer Battalions, seeing extensive combat action on the Eastern Front in 1943-45. This memoir is his brutal and deeply personal account of the Russian Front's appalling carnage. Dep...

The Moon in the Palace: The Empress of Bright Moon, Book 1
The Moon in the Palace: The Empress of Bright Moon, Book 1 by Weina Dai Randel

There is no easy path for a woman aspiring to power. A concubine at the palace learns quickly that there are many ways to capture the emperor's attention. Many paint their faces white and style their hair attractively, hoping to lure in the One Above All ...

The Last Panther: Slaughter of the Reich - The Halbe Kessel 1945
The Last Panther: Slaughter of the Reich - The Halbe Kessel 1945 by Wolfgang Faust

While the Battle of Berlin in 1945 is widely known, the horrific story of the Halbe Kessel remains largely untold. In April 1945, victorious Soviet forces encircled 80,000 men of the German 9th Army in the Halbe area, South of Berlin, together with many t...

When an Omega Snaps: A Lion's Pride, Book 3
When an Omega Snaps: A Lion's Pride, Book 3 by Eve Langlais

Leo is the calm guy. The nice guy. The one nobody screws with. So could someone explain that to Meena, so she stops driving him insane - with desire? When Meena literally throws herself at Leo and declares he's her mate, his first reaction is to deny - an...

Game of Crowns: Elizabeth, Camilla, Kate, and the Throne
Game of Crowns: Elizabeth, Camilla, Kate, and the Throne by Christopher Andersen

The number-one New York Times best-selling author of William and Kate and The Day Diana Died takes a compulsively listenable look into the relationships and rivalries of Queen Elizabeth, Camilla Parker Bowles, and Kate Middleton. One has been famous longe...

History's Greatest Ships
History's Greatest Ships by Go Entertain

Profiles different kinds of ships, including triremes, Viking longboats, ships of the line, and more. Throughout the history of mankind, seafaring has played a pivotal role in trade, warfare, transport, and exploration. From the very first dug-out wooden ...

Raja & the Giant Donut
Raja & the Giant Donut by Prashant Pinge

Raja, a golden brown stray mongrel, leads a carefree existence in Shivaji Park, spending his days lying under shady trees and chasing tennis balls. His friend Pakya, a white and black mongrel, happens to be the most feared dog on this side of the park. Bu...

Claws of the Golden Dragon
Claws of the Golden Dragon by Barbara Doran

Trouble in Strikersport When a mysterious evil force known only as the Voice begins to take control of the local mobs in the coast city of Strikersport, two new heroes appear on the scene. Their origin, the neighborhood streets of Chinatown. The masked Ti...

Snow Truer Love: An Adult Gender Swapped Snow White Retelling
Snow Truer Love: An Adult Gender Swapped Snow White Retelling by AJ Tipton

Attention: This is a sexy short novella. Bite-sized for your listening pleasure. Thrilling conquests for the fairest of them all. In a magical kingdom far away, there lived cursed princes, warrior women, and mighty magic. Snow Truer Love is a sexy gender ...

Water Animals: Animal Life Book Series, Volume 2
Water Animals: Animal Life Book Series, Volume 2 by Ms. Angie Michell

A Great Children's Animal Life Book! Teach your child about their favorite animals with facts and information with this marvelous book: Water Animals. Go back to basics again with this wonderful and enchanting second volume of the Animal Life Book Series ...