Base have 172 065 books.
Search: 


Science & Technology, Environment


Search results have 277 titles, on 14 pages

The Dog Merchants: Inside the Big Business of Breeders, Pet Stores, and Rescuers
The Dog Merchants: Inside the Big Business of Breeders, Pet Stores, and Rescuers by Kim Kavin

We love them with all our hearts, but do we really know where our dogs came from? Kim Kavin reveals the complex network behind the $11-billion-a-year business of selling dogs. A must-listen for the benefit of all dogs everywhere. In what promises to becom...

The Tree Climber's Guide
The Tree Climber's Guide by Jack Cooke

A wonderful cocktail of extraordinary writing and heartfelt appreciation for the natural world. An essential oddity for any book collection. In this charming and witty companion, Jack Cooke explores the city through its canopy: teetering on the edge of an...

Understand Global Warming and Climate Change
Understand Global Warming and Climate Change by IntroBooks

There's hardly anyone out there who hasn't heard about the term "global warming". Despite its continuous use and repetitive references, global warming remains a topic that demands development of understanding from the mass public. If you feel uninformed w...

Eruption: The Untold Story of Mount St. Helens
Eruption: The Untold Story of Mount St. Helens by Steve Olson

For months in early 1980, scientists, journalists, and ordinary people listened anxiously to rumblings in the long quiescent volcano Mount St. Helens. Still, when a massive explosion took the top off the mountain, no one was prepared. Fifty-seven people d...

Half-Earth: Our Planet's Fight for Life
Half-Earth: Our Planet's Fight for Life by Edward O. Wilson

Refusing to accept the mass extinction of species as an inevitability, "the world's greatest naturalist" (Jeffrey Sachs) proposes a plan to save Earth's imperiled biosphere. Half-Earth resoundingly concludes the best-selling trilogy begun by The Social Co...

The Science of Energy: Resources and Power Explained
The Science of Energy: Resources and Power Explained by The Great Courses

Energy is, without a doubt, the very foundation of the universe. It's the engine that powers life and fuels the evolution of human civilization. To better put into perspective the various issues surrounding energy in the 21st century, you need to understa...

Earth in the Balance: Ecology and the Human Spirit
Earth in the Balance: Ecology and the Human Spirit by Al Gore

Winner of the 1993 Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights Book Award. In brave and unforgettable terms, Al Gore, the passionate and lifelong defender of the environment, describes how human actions and decisions can endanger or safeguard th...

Raptor: A Journey Through Birds
Raptor: A Journey Through Birds by James Macdonald Lockhart

Winner of the Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011. A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald. Of all the birds of the British Isles, the ...

Shrinking the Earth: The Rise and Decline of American Abundance
Shrinking the Earth: The Rise and Decline of American Abundance by Donald Worster

The discovery of the Americas around AD 1500 was an extraordinary watershed in human experience. It gave rise to the modern period of human ecology, a phenomenon global in scope that set in motion profound changes in almost every society on Earth. This ne...

Companion Planting for Beginners: All You Need to Know About Companion Planting
Companion Planting for Beginners: All You Need to Know About Companion Planting by Beverly Hill

This book contains proven steps and strategies on which plants or vegetables you can put together to help them to grow healthily. By combining plants carefully, plants can help each other in terms of providing nutrients in the soil, offering protection fr...

ContamiNation: My Quest to Survive in a Toxic World
ContamiNation: My Quest to Survive in a Toxic World by McKay Jenkins

A few years ago, journalism professor McKay Jenkins went in for a routine medical exam. What doctors found was not routine at all: A tumor, the size of a navel orange, was lurking in his abdomen. When Jenkins returned to the hospital to have the tumor rem...

Let There Be Water: Israel's Solution for a Water-Starved World
Let There Be Water: Israel's Solution for a Water-Starved World by Seth M. Siegel

As every day brings urgent reports of growing water shortages around the world, there is no time to lose in the search for solutions. The United States government predicts that 40 of our 50 states - and 60 percent of the earth's land surface - will soon f...

Treat Climate Change, Save the Earth: How to Prevent Flooding and Drought to Slow Global Warming: Treating the Symptoms of Climate Change, Book 1
Treat Climate Change, Save the Earth: How to Prevent Flooding and Drought to Slow Global Warming: Treating the Symptoms of Climate Change, Book 1 by Amanda Rothman

Profits from this book will be used toward working to get this system implemented. Flooding and drought could become a thing of the past! Have you ever been frantic with worry about your family and friends after a hurricane or wildfire destroyed their hom...

Superforecasting: The Art and Science of Prediction by Philip E. Tetlock and Dan Gardner | Key Takeaways, Analysis & Review
Superforecasting: The Art and Science of Prediction by Philip E. Tetlock and Dan Gardner | Key Takeaways, Analysis & Review by Instaread

Preview: Superforecasting: The Art and Science of Prediction is a nonfiction book about the accuracy of forecasting. It recounts the efforts of Philip E. Tetlock, a professor of psychology and marketing at the Wharton School of Business of the University ...

Waste Free Kitchen: Save Money, Stay Organized & Reduce Waste
Waste Free Kitchen: Save Money, Stay Organized & Reduce Waste by Kate Anderson

Fed up with having a messy and disorganized kitchen? Feel like you are throwing money in the bin everyday with waste? This informative and easy-to-follow book is here to help you! The best-selling author of Natural Laundry Detergent and Homemade Beauty Pr...

The Zero Waste Home: 101 Ways to Reduce Waste & Save Money in Your Home
The Zero Waste Home: 101 Ways to Reduce Waste & Save Money in Your Home by Kate Anderson

Living in a no-waste home is far easier than most people think and it doesn't just help the planet, it can also save you heaps of money! This audiobook is designed to show you and your family how to create less waste and save money. It is laid out in an e...

Genetically Modified Organisms Damage Your DNA: Save Our Planet - A Call to Action
Genetically Modified Organisms Damage Your DNA: Save Our Planet - A Call to Action by George McClelland

The world is a giant experimental lab for the GMO chemists. They have bought the elected representatives who have allowed them to write laws to benefit themselves and no one else. They ban independent scientific research because they know the negative out...

A Field Philosopher's Guide to Fracking: How One Texas Town Stood Up to Big Oil and Gas
A Field Philosopher's Guide to Fracking: How One Texas Town Stood Up to Big Oil and Gas by Adam Briggle

From the front lines of the fracking debate, a "field philosopher" explores one of our most divisive technologies. When philosophy professor Adam Briggle moved to Denton, Texas, he had never heard of fracking. Only five years later, he would successfully ...

Unstoppable: Harnessing Science to Change the World
Unstoppable: Harnessing Science to Change the World by Bill Nye

Just as World War II called an earlier generation to greatness, so the climate crisis is calling today's rising youth to action: to create a better future. In Unstoppable, Bill Nye crystallizes and expands the message for which he is best known and belove...

Vapor Tiger: Global Warming Explained and Documented Completely for All
Vapor Tiger: Global Warming Explained and Documented Completely for All by Adrian Vance

This is the complete story and exposition of anthropogenic, man-caused, global warming, aka "climate change"; who invented it and why; and why it is a provable fraud for political power and money. We give you the physics in step-by-step, easy-to-understan...

Pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ...